Gaming Strategy
Featured Stories
Legal News Financial News Casino Opening and Remodeling News Gaming Industry Executives Search News Subscribe
Newsletter Signup
Stay informed with the
NEW Casino City Times newsletter!
Related Links
Related News
Search Our Archive of Gaming Articles 

Australian wins PLO8 title, $255,942 at WSOP

20 June 2013

Jarred Graham can add his name to the list of Australians who have excelled at the World Series of Poker after claiming the $1,500 Pot-Limit Omaha High-Low title for his first WSOP bracelet and $255,942.

Gary Benson became the first Australian to win a gold bracelet in 1996. Nine years later, Aussie Joe Hachem became the first World Champion from that part of the world, winning the 2005 WSOP Main Event. In fact, Hachem was on hand to witness the victory.

"We are good friends from playing in cash games back home," Graham said of the world champion. "To have him here was really special. It meant a lot."

Graham has been playing semi-professionally and professionally off and on for about five years. He also works in real estate and helps to manage properties. And now, he will have to manage more than a quarter million in prize money added to his bankroll.

Australia may be called the land down under, but, at least for today, that proud nation led by Jarred Graham is on top of the world.

Graham defeated Marco Johnson heads up to claim the title. Johnson took home $158,379 for second.

Barry Greenstein was third, Noomis Jones was fourth, Gabriel Blumenthal was fifth, Lon Harwood was sixth, Eric Rodawig was seventh, Joao Simao was eighth, and Perry Green, who was the runner up to Stu Unger in the 1981 Main Event, finished ninth.

The tournament drew 936 players, with the top 117 finishing in the money. Notable players who cashed but did not make the final table included Yuval Bronshtein (1th), Leif Force (23rd), Jeff Lisandro (24th), Mel Judah (27th), Chris Bell (32nd), Matt Giannetti (35th), Mike Matusow (40th), Owais Ahmed (42nd), Kirill Gerasimov (43rd), Allen Cunningham (44th), Mark Gergorich (49th), Nick Binger (58th), Ryan Lenaghan (59th), Dao Bac (66th), Jonathan Little (75th), Jason Mercier (83rd), and Eoghan O'Dea (93rd).

Tournament recap modified from a report by WSOP Media Director Nolan Dalla, used by permission.

< Gaming News