Search News Subscribe
Stay informed with the
NEW Casino City Times newsletter!
Newsletter Signup
Stay informed with the
NEW Casino City Times newsletter!
Related Links

Gaming News


PokerPAC announces 2010 U.S. Congress endorsements

21 October 2010

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- (PRESS RELEASE) -- PokerPAC, the political action committee of the Poker Players Alliance (PPA), today released the list of Congressional candidates it has endorsed for the 2010 mid-term elections on November 2nd.

"Through the efforts of the Poker Players Alliance and its members, more and more of our elected officials in Congress are seeing the value of establishing a safe, regulated market for online poker. This year's election is critical to ensuring that candidates are elected who support the rights of poker players and who choose to take action to protect American consumers," said PokerPAC chairmen Former Senator Alfonse D'Amato and Former Congressman Toby Moffett. "PokerPAC is proud to endorse these candidates who have been advocates for poker players and this great game we all love."

PokerPAC based its endorsements on whether a candidate demonstrated their support of poker via votes on online poker legislation, such as H.R. 2267, co-sponsorship of bills, Congressional letters of support and public statements. Through these actions, PokerPAC is confident these individuals will be strong advocates for poker rights in the next Congress.

PokerPAC is endorsing the following candidates (*indicates non-incumbent):

• John Adler (D-NJ)
• Robert Andrews (D-NJ)
• Joe Barton (R-TX)
• Shelley Berkley (D-NV)
• Michael Bennet (D-CO)
• Judy Biggert (R-IL)
• Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)
• John Callahan* (D-PA)
• John Campbell (R-CA)
• Russ Carnahan (D-MO)
• Lacy Clay (D-MO)
• Steve Cohen (D-TN)
• John Conyers (D-MI)
• Joe Courtney (D-CT)
• Steve Driehaus (D-OH)
• Barney Frank (D-MA)
• Joe Garcia* (D-FL)
• Jim Gerlach (R-PA)
• Alan Grayson (D-FL)
• Alcee Hastings (D-FL)
• Dean Heller (R-NV)
• Jim Himes (D-CT)
• Paul Hodes (D-NH)
• Steve Israel (D-NY)
• Darrell Issa (R-CA)
• Paul Kanjorski (D-PA)
• Peter King (R-NY)
• Mary Jo Kilroy (D-OH)
• Suzanne Kosmas (D-FL)
• Leonard Lance (R-NJ)
• John Larson (D-CT)
• Christopher Lee (R-NY)
• Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ)
• Connie Mack (R-FL)
• Dan Maffei (D-NY)
• Kenny Marchant (R-TX)
• Betsy Markey (D-CO)
• Jim McDermott (D-WA)
• George Miller (D-CA)
• Walt Minnick (D-ID)
• Jim Moran (D-VA)
• Christopher Murphy (D-CT)
• Scott Murphy (D-NY)
• Ron Paul (R-TX)
• Ed Perlmutter (D-CO)
• Tom Perriello (D-VA)
• Gary Peters (D-MI)
• Jared Polis (D-CO)
• Harry Reid (D-NV)
• Linda Sanchez (D-CA)
• Adam Schiff (D-CA)
• Robert Scott (D-VA)
• Pete Sessions (R-TX)
• Bennie Thompson (D-MS)
• Dina Titus (D-NV)
• Mel Watt (D-NC)
• Anthony Weiner (D-NY)
• Lynn Westmoreland (R-GA)

The goal of PokerPAC is to further strengthen the voices of the over one million members of the PPA among elected officials in the U.S. Congress and the state capitals. This is another vehicle for poker players to send a clear message to their elected officials that they are paying attention to the laws these policymakers enact that impact an individual's right to play poker. PokerPAC is open to dues paying members of PPA as well as PPA Board Members and employees.

< Gaming News

PokerPAC announces 2010 U.S. Congress endorsements is republished from