Search News Subscribe
Stay informed with the
NEW Casino City Times newsletter!
Newsletter Signup
Stay informed with the
NEW Casino City Times newsletter!
Related Links

No-Limit Hold’em British Poker Open tournament goes to Soverel

9 September 2019

(PRESS RELEASE) -- The fifth event of the inaugural British Poker Open was won by Sam Soverel who came second in two prior events to take a commanding chip lead in the championship standings. Soverel collected £322,200 for his efforts after beating Rainer Kempe heads up in this No Limit Hold’em tournament that had 28 total entries.

From the winner: “I’m not really a trophy guy but it would be really nice to win it,” Soverel said about his chances to win the overall British Poker Open Championship. “When you’re winning the overall standings, it means that you’re doing well and winning a lot of money, so I’m pretty excited about that.”

“I like everyone that’s playing here and it’s always fun to play against tough competition. You learn a lot and it’s nice that I’m running well.”

The final table started with five players and four places paid. Vicent Bosca from Spain was unfortunate to bust on the bubble when his pocket jacks didn’t hold up against the ace-deuce of Sam Soverel. After Kempe took the lead from Soverel, Stephen Chidwick hit runner-runner to stay alive against the German before Kempe himself spiked a crucial deuce on the river to double through the Brit. The action was fast and furious and ultimately it was Chidwick who busted in fourth place.

Poker Masters champion Ali Imsirovic busted in third place when he found himself all in with queen-five suited against the ace-deuce suited of Soverel and the board provided no help. The heads-up match was a formality as Soverel dominated and busted Kempe with queen-ten versus jack-ten.

Final Table Results:

1st/Sam Soverel/£322,000
2nd/Rainer Kempe/£196,000
3rd/Ali Imsirovic/£112,000
4th/Stephen Chidwick/£70,000

British Poker Open Standings

1/Sam Soverel/480/£501,200
2/Sam Greenwood/260/£147,200
3/Robert Flink/240/£108,800
4/Stephen Chidwick/220/£141,000
5/Paul Newey/200/£156,400
6/George Wolff/200/£120,000
7/Luc Greenwood/200/£119,600
8/Rainer Kempe/140/£196,600
9/Steve O’Dwyer/140/£72,800
10/Cary Katz/120/£51,600

< Gaming News