Gaming Strategy
Featured Stories
Legal News Financial News Casino Opening and Remodeling News Gaming Industry Executives Search News Subscribe
Newsletter Signup
Stay informed with the
NEW Casino City Times newsletter!
Related Links
Related News
Search Our Archive of Gaming Articles 

Nitty Gritty Dirt Band heads to Tulsa

22 May 2019

(PRESS RELEASE) -- With a refreshed lineup and newfound energy, the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band is bringing country rock to The Joint inside Hard Rock Hotel & Casino - Tulsa on 5 July.

Tickets are $19.50 and go on sale 30 May.

The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band played their first gig in 1966 in southern California as a jug band, and by 1969, they had become a cornerstone of the country-rock community. Their career breakthrough came in 1970 with the release of the record “Uncle Charlie & His Dog Teddy” and the single “Mr. Bojangles,” a folksy Top 10 pop hit that remains a staple of their live show. After an introduction to Earl Scruggs, the band created several connections to record “Will the Circle Be Unbroken” with legends like Roy Acuff, Mother Maybelle Carter, Jimmy Martin, Merle Travis and Doc Watson. The acclaimed project is considered a landmark recording in American music.

The band earned a pop resurgence in 1980 with “An American Dream” and “Make a Little Magic.” They also secured 16 Top 10 country hits between 1983 and 1990, including three No. 1 singles: “Long Hard Road (The Sharecropper’s Dream),” “Modern Day Romance” and “Fishin’ in the Dark.” Bernie Leadon, a founding member of the Eagles, played in the band from 1986 to 1988 to fill a vacancy by longtime member John McEuen.

At the peak of their country career, the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band toured Europe with Johnny Cash and June Carter Cash. Later, they recorded another all-star album, “Circle Volume II,” featuring Johnny and June, as well as Rosanne Cash, Emmylou Harris, Levon Helm, John Hiatt, Bruce Hornsby, John Denver, Ricky Skaggs, New Grass Revival and more. Released in 1989, the album won three Grammys and a CMA Award for Album of the Year.

Following an extended 50th anniversary tour, the ensemble grew to a six-piece in 2018 for the first time since their early jug band days. The group includes Jeff Hanna (acoustic guitar, electric guitar), Jimmie Fadden (drums, harmonica), Bob Carpenter (keyboards), Jim Photoglo (bass, acoustic guitar), Ross Holmes (fiddle, mandolin) and Jaime Hanna (electric guitar, acoustic guitar).

< Gaming News