Search News Subscribe
Stay informed with the
NEW Casino City Times newsletter!
Newsletter Signup
Stay informed with the
NEW Casino City Times newsletter!
Related Links
Related News

MSPT Michigan State Poker Tour to kick off this weekend

12 October 2016

(PRESS RELEASE) -- The largest event in Mid-States Poker Tour history outside of Las Vegas took place back in May as an unprecedented 820 entrants packed FireKeepers Casino Hotel in Battle Creek, Michigan. That obliterated the $300,000 advertised guarantee by creating a whooping $820,000 total prize pool.

This weekend, the MSPT will return to the property for a second Season 7 stop, this time the famed Michigan State Poker Championship. A series of $65 and $250 qualifiers have been held leading up to this weekend's $1,100 buy-in, $300,000 guarantee Main Event.

"May's turnout at FireKeepers absolutely blew us away," said MSPT President Bryan Mileski. "Poker in Michigan is as strong as ever, which is evidenced by the fact that WSOP champs Joe Cada and Ryan Riess both hail from the Wolverine State, as well as MSPT Season 4 and 5 Players of the Year Pat Steele and Mike Deis. Here's hoping our eighth visit to the property is the best yet!"

The Main Event, which requires players be 21 years of age to participate, will feature three starting flights beginning with Day 1a at 4:00 p.m. on Thursday, 13 October. Days 1b and 1c will then be held at Noon local time on Friday, 14 October and Saturday, 15 October respectively. The remaining players from each flight will combine on Sunday morning at 11:00 a.m. and play until a champion is crowned.

The Main Event final table will be broadcast live (15 minute delay) worldwide on the MSPT Poker website using RFID technology allowing all viewers to see the hole cards. In addition, the entirety of the Main Event will be live reported in the MSPT's live blog, which can be found on the website once the tournament begins. Simply look for the neon green button that reads "Live Updates."

For a full look at the MSPT Michigan State Poker Championship schedule, visit the website.

May's record-setting event was won by poker pro Aaron Massey, who took home $174,658 for his win. However, that was not the Michigan State Poker Championship, which is held just once a year. In 2015, Michael Ferraroti topped a field of 559 entries to win the coveted title for $134,642, while Ryan Dykhouse bested a field of 517 entrants to win it for $124,500 in 2014, which was the inaugural Michigan State Poker Championship.

Others who've notched wins at FireKeepers are Harry Tisdale (May 2015 for $142,637), Jason Zarlenga (May 2014 for $101,482), Jordan Townsend (August 2013 for $76,975), and Thomas Midena (March 2013 for $73,456).

For more information, visit the FireKeepers Casino website.

< Gaming News