Search News Subscribe
Stay informed with the
NEW Casino City Times newsletter!
Newsletter Signup
Stay informed with the
NEW Casino City Times newsletter!
Related Links
Related News

Jay Mohr to host NHL Awards in Las Vegas

9 May 2011

NEW YORK, New York -- (PRESS RELEASE) -- Actor, writer and comedian Jay Mohr will return to Las Vegas in June to host the 2011 NHL Awards and honor the National Hockey League’s biggest stars for the second straight year. The best hockey players in the world will come together with Mohr and celebrities from music, stage and screen for the 2011 NHL Awards on Wednesday, June 22, at the Pearl Concert Theater inside the The Palms Casino Resort in Las Vegas (7pm ET, VERSUS in the U.S. and CBC in Canada). Tickets to the 2011 NHL Awards™ are on sale now.

The multi-talented Mohr’s career has spanned three decades. He has appeared in more than 25 films, beginning with his breakthrough role as a rival sports agent in the blockbuster hit Jerry Maguire and most recently in the Warner Brothers thriller Hereafter opposite Matt Damon and directed by Clint Eastwood. A well-known stand-up comedian and featured player on the 1993-94 and 1994-95 seasons of Saturday Night Live, Mohr’s small screen credits include his starring role in the CBS show Gary Unmarried and the long-running NBC series Last Comic Standing, which he also created and executive produced. Mohr is an avid sports fan and frequent sports show guest.

“I am really excited to return to Las Vegas for the 2011 NHL Awards in June,” said Mohr. “I had a great time hosting the event last year and look forward to celebrating this season’s top hockey performances – and the chance to poke a little fun, too.”

Dave Broome will bring his creative vision to the show for the second straight year as Executive Producer of the 2011 NHL Awards. "It's an honor to be asked back to produce this year's NHL Awards show,” said Broome. “Last year’s show was truly a fun celebration of hockey and I'm looking forward to continuing that vision even further this year. I think the audience is really going to be excited for what we have in store for them."

At the close of the 2010-11 NHL® regular season in April, three members of the Vancouver Canucks, who helped their club capture the Presidents' Trophy for posting the NHL's best record, added individual awards to their collection. Left wing Daniel Sedin won his first career Art Ross Trophy as NHL scoring leader, while Roberto Luongo and Cory Schneider earned the William Jennings Trophy as the goaltenders on the club allowing the fewest goals. Anaheim Ducks right wing Corey Perry captured the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy as the League's goal-scoring leader. The four trophy winners will be honored at the 2011 NHL Awards.

< Gaming News