Search News Subscribe
Stay informed with the
NEW Casino City Times newsletter!
Newsletter Signup
Stay informed with the
NEW Casino City Times newsletter!
Related Links

Gaming News


Irish Open venue named

25 September 2007

RELAND -- (PRESS RELEASE) -- today announces Citywest Hotel as the venue for the €3 Million Guaranteed Irish Open. The weeklong festival of poker will take place over Easter Weekend from 19th to 24th March 2008.

Europe's longest running poker tournament has relocated to Ireland's premier Conference, Leisure and Golf Resort to accommodate an increased capacity of 1,000 players.

"Citywest Hotel is the ideal location for the 2008 Irish Open," confirms Paddy Power, Communications Manager for "We searched the length and breadth of the country to find a venue that could provide players with the famous atmosphere and communal spirit of the Irish Open whilst still being big enough to accommodate the huge field. In Citywest we found the perfect home. With two magnificent golf courses and world class facilities, Citywest will be the only place to play poker next Easter!" Irish Open

Venue: Citywest Hotel, Leisure & Golf Resort

Dates: March 19th -24th 2008

Prizepool: €3 Million Guaranteed

Buy-in: €4,200 + €300

Capacity: 1,000 players

With 1,314 rooms, bars, restaurants, state of the art Health & Leisure Club, and two Christy O'Connor Jnr designed golf courses, Citywest is one of the most popular event destinations in Europe. Located only 20km from Dublin airport, and 15km from Dublin City Centre, Citywest is easily accessible for both local and international players.

In April 2007 Marty Smyth defeated Roland De Wolfe in an epic heads up battle to claim the Terry Rogers Memorial Trophy and €650,000 first prize. The star studded field featured many of the world's top poker players including Carlos Mortensen, Dan Harrington, Mike Sexton, Phil Laak, Jennifer Tilly, Antonio Esfandiari, Dave 'Devilfish' Ulliott, Andy Black, Padraig Parkinson, Scott Gray, Ram Vaswani, David Plastik, Eddie Scharf, Surinder Sunar, Frank Cruess Callaghan, Ian Frazer, David Benyamine and Ericka Schoenberg.

The buy-in for the 2008 Irish Open Main Event is €4,500 and online registration is now available at's packed schedule of online satellites consists of daily feeders and fortnightly Grand Finals and is already underway.

< Gaming News

Irish Open venue named is republished from