Gaming Strategy
Featured Stories
Legal News Financial News Casino Opening and Remodeling News Gaming Industry Executives Search News Subscribe
Newsletter Signup
Stay informed with the
NEW Casino City Times newsletter!
Related Links
Search Our Archive of Gaming Articles 

American Poker Awards winners announced

26 February 2016

The poker industry went Hollywood on Thursday night, gathering in Beverly Hills, California at the SLS Hotel for the second annual Global Poker Index American Poker Awards.

While these awards aren't nearly as old as the Oscars, which will be held on Sunday night just four miles away at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, they are gaining attention from poker fans around the world. This year, many weighed in on who they thought would win leading up to the awards presentation, and posted on Twitter about whether the winners truly deserved it.

Here are the winners from last night's awards presentation.

GPI Female Poker Player of the Year
Kelly Minkin

GPI Player of the Year
Byron Kaverman

Breakout Performance of the Year
Josh Beckley

Event of the Year (buy-in up to $2,000)
The Colossus (World Series of Poker)

Tournament Performance of the Year
Anthony Zinno (back-to-back victories at WPT Fallsview and L.A. Poker Classic)

Media Person of the Year
Donnie Peters, PokerNews

Poker Innovation of the Year
Online bracelet event (

Event of the Year (buy-in over $2,000)
Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open (WPT)

Media Content of the Year
Joe Giron (photo of Daniel Negreanu busting from the WSOP)

Poker Presenter of the Year
Kara Scott

Charitable Initiative of the Year
Charity Series of Poker (Matthew Stout)

Industry Person of the Year
Matt Savage, TDA Founder, WPT Executive Director

Moment of the Year
Daniel Negreanu, bustout in 11th place in the WSOP Main Event

Jury Award
Kevin Mathers, PocketFives

Lifetime Achievement Award
Mike Sexton

< Gaming News

American Poker Awards winners announced is republished from