Gaming Strategy
Featured Stories
Legal News Financial News Casino Opening and Remodeling News Gaming Industry Executives Search News Subscribe
Newsletter Signup
Stay informed with the
NEW Casino City Times newsletter!
Related Links
Search Our Archive of Gaming Articles 

AGA Elects New Chairman, Board Members

5 January 2005

WASHINGTON -- (PRESS RELEASE) -- At the annual meeting of the American Gaming Association (AGA), the board of directors elected MGM MIRAGE Chairman and CEO Terry Lanni to succeed former Harrah's Chairman Phil Satre as chairman of the AGA. Lanni, who was elected to the AGA board in 1996, will serve a two-year term as chairman. Boyd Gaming Chairman and CEO William S. Boyd was re-elected to his post as vice chairman of the AGA.

In addition, the AGA elected and re-elected the following directors:

Lorenzo Fertitta, president of Station Casinos, Inc.; Richard M. Haddrill, president and CEO of Alliance Gaming Corporation; and Gary Loveman, president and CEO of Harrah's Entertainment, Inc., all have joined the AGA board as new Class I directors.

Wallace R. Barr, president and CEO of Caesars Entertainment, Inc.; Brian Gamache, president and CEO of WMS Gaming Inc.; Russel McMeekin, CEO of Mikohn Gaming Corporation; and Steve Wynn, chairman and CEO of Wynn Resorts Ltd., all were re-elected to the board as Class I directors. Peter Carlino, chairman and CEO of Penn National Gaming, Inc., was elected to fill the board's open at-large seat. Carlino is the first Penn National representative to sit on the AGA board.

William Newby, managing director of Bank of America, and Larry Ruvo, senior managing director of Southern Wine & Spirits of Nevada, were re-elected to their positions as at-large directors.

Other directors currently serving on the AGA board are G. Thomas Baker, chairman of IGT; Boyd; Timothy Hinkley, president and chief operating officer of Isle of Capri Casinos, Inc.; Richard J. Glasier, president and CEO of Argosy Gaming Company; Gavin Isaacs, president of Aristocrat Technologies, Inc.; Dan Lee, chairman and CEO of Pinnacle Entertainment, Inc.; and Charles Mathewson, chairman emeritus of both the AGA and IGT.

In addition to Lanni and Boyd, officers of the association are Frank J. Fahrenkopf, Jr., president and CEO; Judy Patterson, senior vice president, treasurer and secretary; Wally Chalmers, vice president; and Brett Hale, vice president.

The AGA represents the commercial casino-entertainment industry by addressing federal legislative and regulatory issues. The association also serves as a clearinghouse for information, develops educational and advocacy programs, and provides leadership on industry-related issues of public concern.

< Gaming News

AGA Elects New Chairman, Board Members is republished from