Search News Subscribe
Stay informed with the
NEW Casino City Times newsletter!
Newsletter Signup
Stay informed with the
NEW Casino City Times newsletter!
Related Links
Related News

Tenth Annual Arizona State Poker Championship winner to be named today

19 August 2014

SALT RIVER PIMA-MARICOPA INDIAN COMMUNITY, Arizona -- (PRESS RELEASE) -- Talking Stick Resort will crown the winner of its 10th Annual Arizona State Poker Championship this Tuesday, Aug. 19. The five-day tournament, which began on Aug. 15, has featured more than 900 players, all vying for bragging rights and a share of the more than $1 million prize pool. This year’s event has also featured a slew of poker pros including 13-time World Series of Poker bracelet winner Phil Hellmuth — who is slated to emcee the final table — as well as Tiffany Michelle, Ryan Riess, Joe Cada, David Williams, Dennis Phillips and Chip and Karina Jett.

The annual No Limit Texas Hold 'Em championship began Friday, Aug. 15 at 9 a.m. Participants eliminated during the first three days of the competition had the option to buy in again for an additional $1,100. Remaining players will compete in the semifinals on Monday, Aug. 18 followed by the finals on Aug. 19. In addition to a cash prize of $211,750, the winner will take home a trophy and bracelet designed by renowned Scottsdale jeweler Scott Gauthier of Jewelry by Gauthier. Second- and third-place titleholders will receive trophies as well as payouts of $143,000 and $110,000, respectively.

Members of the media interested in covering this event should call Shanna Wolfe at 602-462-2278 or on cell at 480-710-7891. Interviews will be available with players and representatives from The ARENA Poker Room.

WHAT: Arizona State Poker Championship- Final Table (10 players)

WHEN: Tuesday, Aug. 19, 2014

Beginning at 10 a.m.

WHERE: The ARENA Poker Room at Talking Stick Resort

9800 E. Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ

< Gaming News