Gaming Strategy
Featured Stories
Legal News Financial News Casino Opening and Remodeling News Gaming Industry Executives Search News Subscribe
Newsletter Signup
Stay informed with the
NEW Casino City Times newsletter!
Search Our Archive of Gaming Articles 

Blair Witch Computer Games Thrilling PC Gamers Nationwide

26 October 2000

DALLAS, Texas--(Press Release)--Oct. 26, 2000--Computer and video game publisher Gathering of Developers' three-part serialized Blair Witch computer games are thrilling PC gamers and horror enthusiasts nationwide. Based on Artisan Entertainment's blockbuster horror movie and the mythologies associated with the Blair Witch legend, the three Blair Witch titles offer consumers a full-fledged gaming experience with high quality graphics and sounds, intriguing storylines and immersive gameplay. Each game is available at the low-cost of $19.95.

Created by top industry game developers, the Blair Witch games each feature a unique protagonist, setting, and weapons list and combine the film's mythologies with Terminal Reality's Nocturne characters. Nocturne, a 3D-action horror PC game released in October 1999, was touted for its cutting-edge technology and gameplay. The Blair Witch games utilize the Nocturne(TM) game engine, which offers a full-fledged cinematic experience.

Blair Witch Volume 1: Rustin Parr is set in 1941 immediately after Rustin Parr's conviction of murder. Parr is the old hermit that murdered the seven kids and claimed he did it for an old female ghost. Gamers take on the roles of Doc Holiday (a Nocturne character) to investigate the crimes. Developed by Terminal Reality, Blair Witch Volume 1: Rustin Parr was released on October 2 2000.

Blair Witch Volume 2: The Legend of Coffin Rock, developed by Human Head Studios, takes place in Burkittsville, MD during the fall of 1886 and involves Robin Weaver, a young girl believed to be missing in the Black Hills Forest. Players take on the role of Lazarus and try to uncover the mystery behind Robin's disappearance and discover a bit about their own character. Blair Witch Volume 2: The Legend of Coffin Rock shipped to stores nationwide on October 25 2000.

Ritual Entertainment's Blair Witch Volume 3: The Elly Kedward Tale is set in 1786 and places gamers in the role of witch hunter Jonathan Pyre. Children are mysteriously missing and Elly Kedward is accused of and found guilty of witchcraft. Kedward is banished to the woods and Pyre is chasing her down. Blair Witch Volume 3: The Elly Kedward Tale will be available in November 2000.

The Blair Witch Games have been receiving incredible accolades from the gaming and consumer press. PC Gamer described all three volumes as having ``the highest-caliber spookery.'' Entertainment Weekly named The Blair Witch Games the ``Best Movie Spin-Off'' at this year's Electronic Entertainment Expo (E3) and noted that the ``three game prequel both plays off and adds to the folkloric horror story.''

Wired Magazine said, ``developer Terminal Reality creates an onscreen mood of something between fear-of-the-dark dread and gun-packing whup-ass.'' FHM calls the games ``an innovative concoction...that adds a whole new twist to the Blair Witch phenomenon.''

< Gaming News